Kiir, opposition leaders appoint new cabinet

President Salva Kiir Mayardit signing a document /Photo: File

(Thessherald)–South Sudan’s President Salva Kiir and opposition leaders have unveiled new cabinet ministers of the coalition government – in an important milestone aimed at ending political instability in the country.

In a decree read on SSBC TV, the key ministerial positions were allocated to the SPLM-IO, i.e. oil and defense ministries while the Kiir administration got finance and interior Ministries.

President Kiir nominated 20 ministers, while the main opposition group, SPLM-IO, nominated nine ministers.

Meanwhile, the coalition of the opposition, SSOA nominated three ministers, Former Detainees nominated two ministers and OPP nominated one minister.

Here’s the full list of the newly appointed Ministers:

  1. Martin Elia Lomuro –Minister of Cabinet Affairs
    2.Beatrice Khamis Wani -Minister of Foreign and International Cooperation
  2. Angelina Teny- Minister of Defense and Veterans’ Affairs
  3. Paul Mayom Akec -Minister of Interior
  4. Stephen Par Kuol -Minister of Peace Building
  5. Reuben Madol Arol- Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs
  6. Obuto Mamur Mete – Minister of National Security
  7. Jemma Nun Kumba – Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
  8. Michael Makuei Lueth – Minister of Information
  9. Lasuba Ilowango – Minister of Federal Affairs
  10. John Luk Jok- Minister of East African Community Affairs
  11. Salvatore Garang Mabiordit – Minister of Finance and Planning
  12. Puot Kang Chuol – Minister of Petroleum
  13. Henry Odwar – Minister of Mining
  14. Josephine Joseph Lagu – Minister of Agriculture and Food Security
  15. Onyoti Adigo Nyikwac – Minister of Livestock and Fisheries
  16. Kuol Athian Mawien – Minister of Trade and Industry
  17. Josephine Napon Cosmos– Minister of Environment and Forestry
  18. Manawa Peter Gatkuoth-Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation
  19. Michael Chaingjiek -Minister of Land, Housing and Urban Development
  20. Rizik Zachariah Hassan -Minister of Wildlife, Conservation and Tourism
  21. Dhieu Mathok Diing – Minister of Investment
  22. Denay Jok Chagor -Minister of Higher Education
  23. Awut Deng Achuil – Minister of General Education and Instruction
  24. Elisabeth Acuei Yol – Minister of Health
  25. Bangasi Joseph Bakosoro -Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development
  26. James Hoth Mai -Minister of Labour
  27. Peter Marcello Nasir -Minister of Energy and Dams
  28. Madut Biar Yel- Minister of Transport

31-Simon Mijok Mijak – Minister of Roads and Bridges

31-Ayaa Benjamin Warille – Minister of Gender and Social Welfare

32-Peter Mayen Majongdit – Minister of Humanitarian Affairs

33-Nadia Arop Dudi – Minister of Culture, Museums and National Heritage

  1. Albino Bol Dhieu – Minister of Youth and Sports

Deputy Ministers:

  1. Deng Deng Akon – Deputy Minister of Cabinet Affairs
  2. Deng Dau Deng – Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
  3. Malek Reuben Riak –Deputy Minister of Defense
  4. Mabior Garang de Mabior – Deputy Minister of Interior
  5. Joseph Malek Arop – Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs
  6. Agok Makur Kur – Deputy Minister of Finance and Planning
  7. Lily Albino Akol Akol – Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food Security
  8. Martin Tako – Deputy Minister of General Education and Instruction
  9. Khalid Butrous – Deputy Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development
  10. Baba Medan Konyi – Deputy Minister of Information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *