Breaking: SPLM-IO’s high-ranking commanders defect, join Kiir’s side

Letter of resignation

(Thessherald)–We are hereby announcing our resignation from the SPLA/M (10) with effect from 17/3/2020. We have also decided to resign from our respective assignments. The reasons are many but important among them is the way the movement is being run and managed.

The SPLA/M (10) has lost direction, vision and command of the forces that it is turned into a family Affairs or business enterprise.

The recent appointment of Minister of Defense and Veterans Affairs without consultation with Military Command Council in the movement is case in point.

Therefore, in the interest of full implementation of the Sept 2018 Peace Agreement and in the spirit of ensuring stability and peace to our beloved country of South Sudan, we have decided to join hands, declare our support and allegiance to the president of the Republic of South Sudan General Salva Kiir Mayardit.

We shall be committed and work as part of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) and South Sudan People’s Defense Forces (SSPDF) to effectively ensure that our abandoned forces that are left behind in the bushes without food, shelter and medicines are promptly reorganized and reintegrated in the shortest possible time with their brothers and sisters in the SSPDF.

We strongly urge our field commanders and their forces to remain calm and ensure that the permanent ceasefire holds in greater Upper Nile, Bhar el ghazal and Equatoria in their current positions. We also urge them to immediately report themselves to various Cantonment sites and training centers for smooth and timely implementation of the remaining critical tasks of the security arrangements.

Signed: 1. LT. Gen. James Koang Chol, Former Deputy Chief of General Staff for Administration and Finance and former Co-chair of Joint Defense Board (JDB).

2. Maj Gen. Gatkhor Gatluak Koryom, former Co-chair of Joint Military Ceasefire Commission (JMCC)

3. Maj Gen. Wang Chany Thian, former Deputy Director General for National Security Service (NSS), former member of (JDB) Technical team.

4. Maj Gen. Joseph Yata Erasto, Former Commander of Division 2 B, and former membed of (JDB) CC: File

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *