SPLM-IO members defect from Khartoum, join Hon. Dak Duop

Members of the SPLM-IO who joined the government on Tuesday
Former Members of the SPLM-IO who joined Hon. Dak Duop in Khartoum on May 12, 2020/ Photo: File

May 13, 2020 (Thessherald)–A group of the SPLM-IO members have defected and pledged their allegiance to former Minister of Petroleum Hon. Dak Duop Bichiok who’s currently part of the government.

The group declared their allegiance from the Sudanese capital, Khartoum on Tuesday.

“We as SPLM-IO members in Khartoum-Sudan have decided and concluded to abandon the SPLM/A-IO movement under leadership of Riek Machar Teny and switched our political support to the leadership under former Minister of Petroleum, Hon. Dak Duop Bichiok & CDR Gen. James Koang Chuol Ranley who had switched their political allegiances to His Excellency Gen. Salva Kiir Mayardit, President of the Republic of South Sudan in April 2020,” said the group in a statement extended to The South Sudan Herald.

Last month, Hon. Dak and other senior members of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-IO (SPLM-IO) paid their allegiance to the Kiir administration after falling out with opposition leader Dr. Riek Machar, citing ‘widespread nepotism’ in the movement.

“The reasons for the defection are many, but in this statement we would like to highlight some important points.”

—SPLM-IO as a political movement has lost its political direction and mission.

—Besides all the mentioned political points of views, herein we would like to highlight some significant points:

1- The movement is being characterize by rampant nepotism and favouritism.

2- Lack of transparency in the management of the movement.

3- Poor system of governance

4- The overall political activities of movement are being controlled by Machar’s immediate family members and blood relatives.

Below is the full list of the defecting leaders

1-Gen. Joseph Ruot Nyieny
2- Gen. Simon Diit Gai
3- Col. Bol Makol Deng
4- Captain. Pal Bol Gatkuoth
5- Cde. Bichiok Dobuol Duop 6- Cde Khor Chol Louch
7- Cde. Chuol Gatbel
8- Cde: Peter Chuol Lam
9- Khan Kuol piny

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *