Taban-led group to announce new move if sidelined again from next appointments

Vice-President for Infrastructure Cluster General Taban Deng Gai | Photo: File

A government-allied group led by Vice President Taban Deng Gai is reportedly planning to announce a new move if it’s to be sidelined again from upcoming appointments at the states levels, according to two senior officials who spoke to Thessherald on condition of anonymity.

“We’ll see what to do next if the government fails to meet our demands as per our recent request to the President’s office,” said a senior government official allied to the Vice-President for Infrastructure Cluster, Gen. Taban Deng Gai.

Last week, representatives and former lawmakers of the now-defunct R-TGoNU sent a protest letter to President Salva Kiir Mayardit, calling for fair and transparent appointments of state officials in pending states.

“Your Excellency issued Decree No:11, 12, 13, 14 on 20h and 22 February 2021 establishing the State Government of Central Equatoria, Northern Bhar el Gazal, Unity and Warrap States respectively. We are indeed deeply shocked and dismayed because the Decree omitted the nominees of the former SPLM/A-IO led by Gen. Taban Deng Gai despite the fact that we are part of ITGONU as clearly stipulated in Article 1.3.1 of the R- ARCSS 2018. 2. Our serious fear is that if the bad development in these states is copied by the other states, then our group will be completely excluded from participation in the State and local governments in the country.

We are also deeply concerned with the proposal of the acting Secretary General of SPLM which was submitted to you concerning the expansion and reconstitution of the National Legislature,

Her proposal allocates:

• 165 seats for those elected to Juba NLA in 2010 to be maintained.

• 91 seats for those elected to the Legislative Assembly in Khartoum in 2010 to be maintained.

• 47 Presidential appointees to the NLA in 2011 to be maintained.

Thus the total number of seats for the SPLM alone will be 303 out of 332 leaving only 29 seats for the other parties in ITGONU.

Furthermore out of the 29 seats, ten will be allocated to some elected members in 2010 leaving only 19 seats for those who were appointed in 2016. If her formula is followed, it means that the majority of the 68 Presidential appointees in 2016 as a result of the 2015 ARCSS will have been excluded.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *