Machar dissolves 21 governors as unity government sets to be formed on Saturday  

Dr. Riek Machar Teny, Chairman of the SPLM-IO (Photo Credit: File)

(Thessherald)-South Sudan’s opposition leader and FVP Dr. Riek Machar has issued a press release, dissolving all 21 governors under the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-IO in accordance with the recent return of the country to its previous ten states.

“As we agreed with the President, South Sudan has reverted to States, the 21 governors are hereby dissolved with immediate effect from 22 February 2020.”

Machar dissolved the states’ governors ahead of the formation of the unity government, which is expected to be announced tomorrow in the capital, Juba.

The opposition directed all governors and county commissioners to act as caretakers until the new governors are appointed.

The governors and commissioners shall remain as caretakers until the new Governors of the 10 states are appointed by the President,” said the Chairman of the SPLM-IO, Dr. Riek Machar.

The SPLM-IO declared that the defunct 21 states shall now be referred to as Areas.

“The former states shall be referred to as Areas.”

The leadership of the SPLM-IO said that the states’ governors shall be responsible for maintaining security in their respective Areas.

“All caretakers must ensure that security is maintained in all the Areas.”

Once the new governors are appointed, the opposition faction pointed out that, the new governors and commissioners of the ten states and counties shall assume titles of Chairpersons.

Original Source: SSNN