Machar shares Governance Cluster Ordinary Meeting in Juba

May 5, 2020 (Thessherald)–South Sudan’s First Vic-President Dr. Riek Machar today shared the Governance Cluster’s Ordinary Meeting in the Council of Ministers Meeting Hall, in the capital, Juba.

According to the FVP’s Press Secretary, James Gatdet Dak, “The meeting today reviewed and recommended to the Council of Ministers the matrix for the implementation of the R-ARCISS as the way forward in ensuring the implementation of the Agreement by the RTGoNU during the three years of transitional period.”

A Brief Over of the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan (R-ARCSS)

The agreement signed in September 2018 by the government and the opposition provides for the formation of the coalition government that lasts for 36 months from the date of its signature.

The agreement also stipulated that democratic elections be held within 60 days before the end of the transitional period.

The same agreement further provides for a single Executive President (Salva Kiir Mayardit), First Vice President (Dr. Riek Machar) and Four Vice Presidents, nominated by the incumbent TGoNU, SSOA, incumbent TGoNU and former detainees respectively.

Whilst the First Vice President is mandated to oversee the Cabinet Cluster on Governance Issues, the other four vice presidents will oversee their allocated Cabinet Clusters: the Economic Cluster, Service Delivery Cluster, Infrastructure Cluster, and Gender and Youth Cluster.

The Cabinet of the R-TGoNU, as stipulated in the the agreement, is supposed to have 35 ministers – 20 from the incumbent TGoNU, nine from SPLM/A-IO, three from SSOA, two former detainees and one from other political parties – and 10 deputy ministers (five from the incumbent TGoNU, three from SPLM/A-IO, one from SSOA and one from other political parties).

The reconstituted Parliament is very bloated, with 550 members of parliament – 332 from the incumbent TGoNU, 128 from SPLM/A-IO, 50 from SSOA, 30 from other political parties and 10 former detainees.